Festive Carrots

Olive Oil Braised Carrots with Warm Spices

Olive Oil Braised Carrots with Warm Spices from Fine Cooking Feb/March 2012

Festive is how my husband described the olive oil braised carrots with warm spices, which I made last night to accompany our New Year’s Day roasted turkey. The recipe is from Fine Cooking Feb/March 2012. I’m not a huge carrot fan but I would agree with my better half that the carrots do taste festive.

What you need:

1.5 pounds of carrots, peeled and halfed lengthwise
3 medium garlic cloves sliced thin
1/2 cup chicken or vegetable broth (I used beef because that’s what I had on hand)
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch of cayenne
kosher salt

What you’ll do:

Heat oven to 375. Fit the carrots in a shallow baking dish, a 9×13, (I used a slightly smaller pan). Place the garlic slices among the carrots.
Whisk all remaining ingredients in a small bowl and drizzle over the carrots. Cover with aluminum foil
and bake about 45 minutes. Remove foil and continue to braise a few more minutes. Fine Cooking says about 15 minutes more until carrots look shiny. I think I did five or ten more minutes. You can serve warm or at room temperature.

What I liked: the taste, which won compliments from the boys and that the dish came together quickly and was economical but tasted festive. I’ll definitely make again.

This entry was posted in Economical, Fine Cooking, Holiday, Orange, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

